Senate Meetings:

Agendas and Minutes

2016-17 Faculty Senate Meetings:

October 12, 2016

November 9, 2016
December 14, 2016
February 8, 2017
March 8, 2017
April 12, 2017
May 10, 2017
June 14, 2017

University Union, 332
2:00pm - 4:00pm


Committee on the Status of Women

Co-chairs: Jennifer Way and Rebecca Dickstein

Membership: The Committee on the Status of Women shall consist of eight faculty members representing a variety of academic disciplines nominated by the Committee on Committees and approved by the Faculty Senate, and two at-large members.  

The term of each faculty member shall be three years in length and members may serve no more than two consecutive terms.  The chair of the committee shall be elected from and by the members of the committee.

* Indicates Second Term
@ Indicates Chair

  • Group I: @Jennifer Way (ARTH) - Term Ends 2017
  • Group II: Erin Miller (LIBR) - Term Ends 2019
  • Group III: Anne Shepler (MATH) - Term Ends 2017*
  • Group IV: Yolanda Niemann (PSYC) - Term Ends 2019
  • Group V: Jessica Strubel (MDSE) - Term Ends 2019
  • Group VI: Mei Chang (EPSY) - Term Ends 2019
  • Group VII: @Rebecca Dickstein (BIOL) - Term Ends 2018*
  • Group VIII: Kirsten Broberg (MUSIC) - Term 2018
  • At-L: Dalia Chowdhury (REHB) - Term 2019
  • At-L: Robbie Sittel (LIBR) - Term Ends 2018
  • At-L: Meredith Clark (JOUR) - Term Ends 2019
  • Institutional Equity & Diversity Representative: Shani Barrax Moore

Committee on the Status of Women Charges 2014-2015:

  • To obtain from the Provost's Office and other appropriate sources data listed below, to compile and report those data to the Faculty Senate, and to participate in additional projects for data* dissemination and follow-up.
  • To co-sponsor/co-host events for the advancement of women faculty with other groups on campus. We will establish connections with other campus-wide organizations that address gender-related and minority-related faculty concerns, such as the Office of Equity and Diversity, the Women’s Faculty Network, the Committee on the Status of People of Color, and the Committee on the Status of LGBT Faculty.
  • To report to the Faculty Senate issues of concern the Committee on the Status of Women may have with respect to implementation of its recommendations.

*Data requested for each faculty member, by gender and department: 

  • Salary. For the most recent 10 year period, 12-month salary by rank and number of years in rank, and by years beyond the PhD or equivalent in the field.
  • Teaching. For the most recent 3-year window: yearly semester credit hours per faculty member. Mentorship as gauged by a list of student scholarships and other honors.
  • Service. For the most recent 3-year window: Faculty member’s estimated average hours per week for each service activity listed in the Annual Update.
  • Other resources. (a) Start-up funds translated in current dollars, and date(s) of start-up allocations; (b) current year’s funds provided by UNT for research, travel, graduate Assistantships, staff and postdoctoral salaries; (c) current allocations of space and facilities.
  • Hires, promotion, and tenure. In addition to years in rank from Salary data (above), cases that are denied at the Departmental P&T, Chair or College levels.

Committee Reports:

Committee on the Status of Women Annual Report 2014-2015

Gender Bias in Student Evaluations

Committe on the Status of Women: Presentation to Women's Faculty Network, October 17, 2014

Committee on the Status of Women: Priority Recommendations for 2014-2015

Opportunity Analysis Committee Report, April 22, 2014

Committee on the Status of Women: Progress and Recommendations, April, 2014

Committee on the Status of Women Report of Activities 2013-2014

Committee on the Status of Women Report of Activities 2012-2013

Executive Summary: Moving UNT Women Faculty Forward Report, January 10, 2011

Report from the Faculty Senate Committee on the Status of Women, November, 2011

Exit Interview Survey Responses 2007-2008

Committee on the Status of Women Salary Report 2004-2005

UNT Task Force on the Retention of Women Faculty 2000-2001