Scholarship Committee

Chair: Zelma DeLeon

Membership: 13 members: 8 faculty members - 1 from each group, elected by the Faculty Senate; 1 member appointed by the Director of the Office of Development; 1 member appointed by the Director of the Office of Financial Aid; 2 students selected by the Student Government Association; and the Director of the University Scholarship Office, ex-officio, who shall serve as the chair of the committee.

Terms: Students - 1 year, all others - 3 years
*  Indicates second term

  • Group I: Bill Ford (JOUR) - Term Ends 2021
  • Group II: Daniel Alemneh (LIBR) – Term Ends 2018*
  • Group III: VACANT (Shenoda)
  • Group IV: VACANT (Brandon)
  • Group V: Stephen Poe (FIREL) – Term Ends 2019*
  • Group VI: Mei Chang (EPSY) - Term Ends 2019
  • Group VII: Amie Lund (BIOL) - Term Ends 2019*
  • Group VIII: VACANT (Sundberg)

Appointed members:

  • Scholarship Office:  Zelma DeLeon
  • Advancement: Kimberly Collinsworth
  • Financial Aid: Ed Turney
  • SGA Student Representative: Varies by meeting schedule, appointed by Melissa McGuire

Scholarship Committee Charges

  • Screen candidates and award University scholarships according to procedures and guidelines.
  • Evaluate procedures of processing scholarship requests and notifications.
  • Provide data on scholarships not renewed and assess the impact on student retention.
  • Prepare a report on how scholarships were distributed, criteria for awarding scholarships and renewal of scholarships. Include in this report a summary of reasons for rejecting scholarship renewals, and the timeline for scholarship applications, acceptances, and rejections notification.
  • Make recommendations to the advancement Office regarding scholarship priorities and needs and provide that office with the report presented to the Faculty Senate to assist in establishing these priorities.
  • Analyze and critique how policy changes in the Office of Development impact scholarship availability and disbursement.

For more information, please contact the Financial Aid office