

Faculty Senate Meeting September 12, 2012 Meeting: Wooten Hall 322 Present: Kim Baker, Cindy Batman, V. Barbara Bush, William Cherry, Charles Conley, James Conover, Barbara Cox, Shelley Cushman, Andrew Enterline, Shahrokhi Farhad, Robert Figueroa, Jeff Goodwin, Francisco Guzman, Pamela Harrell, John Ishiyama, Nadine Kalin, Patricia Kaminski, Carolyn Kern, Thomas La Point, Jennifer Lane, Donna Ledgerwood, Shawne Miksa, Seifollah Nasrazabani, Jin Gyu Park, Dan Peak, Jim Quinn, Patricia Reese, Brian Richardson, Jyoti Shah, Srinivasan Srivilliputhur, Karthigeyan Subramaniam, Kelly Taylor, Carmen Terry, Mannish Vaidya, Guido Verbeck, Mark Vosvick Jeff Allen, Sue Bratton, J. Scott Cook, Brian Chempanal, Absent: Yunfei Du, Donna Emmanuel, Ian Finseth, Frank Heidlberger, Leon Kappelman, Fang-Ling Lu, David Molina, Audhesh Paswan, John Windsor, Dale Yeatts Guests: Yolanda Flores Niemann, Christy Crutsinger, and Andrew Harris Ι. Welcome The meeting was called to order at 2:02 PM. New senators and their faculty senate mentors were introduced. and Introduction 11. Senator Vaidya made a motion to approve the June 13. Approval of Minutes 2012 minutes and Senator Peak seconded the motion. The (6/13/12)minutes were approved. III. Introduction The senate officers presented the new model of discussion. The concept of representation with a focus on to New Faculty issues important to faculty was presented. A number of issues will be brought to the senate each month and time Senate Meeting will be provided to examine the issue(s) providing real time feedback and feedback through social media. Format Senate officers have attended three college meetings during the fall 2012 semester in an effort to solicit input

from faculty about issues important to them and to describe mechanisms by which these issues might be examined. One senator shared that vulnerable faculty (e.g., assistant professors) need a way to feel protected if they share information with the senate. We need to explore ways to help faculty trust the senate.

Roberts Rules of Order will be used to conduct senate meetings. The discussion model allows each senator 90 seconds to raise a point after which they will not speak again until all senators have been given an opportunity to share their perspective. The Faculty Senate Executive Committee will serve to review topics of interest presented by faculty and will forward those topics which can be handled effectively by the senate.

A training opportunity for new senators and chairs for committees is under discussion. The purpose of this training would be to share the organizational history and to communicate procedures and expectations.

An issue was brought to the senate concerning administrative review. Two department chairs and faculty wrote to indicate that the administrative evaluations did not appear to be consistent. There is concern that the process has not been rigorous and that the rating scales reverse therefore it is important to know the legend for the responses within the report.

IV.Provost/
VPAAThis position offers a more rapid level of response from the
Provost's Office. She hopes to attend our meeting on a
regular basis to determine what faculty issues are.

Yolanda Flores Niemann – Senior Vice Provost

Enrolment is a top priority at UNT. This focus on enrolment is the rationale for the hiring freeze. As of the 11th class day, we are up .4% in the headcount and SCH are up 2.8%.

The university is essentially becoming privatized because of declining funding for higher education. We pay our debts but we do not have money for flexibility.

At this time there is \$2.5 M in requests for waivers to fill positions. Because our enrolment did not go down, the President will return money to academic program for pedagogical initiatives.

There are about 30 policies under review. One of them is the review of administrators. Some of the updates will be simple. For example, removal of references to units that no longer exists. Some are outdated and do not fit with university life today. Regarding student retention, the Deans will put together a committee of students who will make calls to non-returning students to find out why students are not returning to UNT. Many students who leave UNT have a low GPA. There will be a distinction between students admitted as freshman and those students who transferred to UNT.

V. Christy "Happy faculty are productive employees." A contributor to job satisfaction is a sense of value and of appreciation for work. The UNT Foundation will build a bridge to faculty so the UNT Foundation will have a better understanding for what faculty do.

The UNT Foundation is supporting new faculty awards. Faculty senators receiving awards include: John Ishiyama – Distinguished Research Professor James Conover – President's Council University Service Award Francisco Guzman will be honoured for his promotion to Associate Professor.

- VI. Andrew Harris (VP of Finance) Andrew Harris provided information about the possibility of changing the pay period at UNT. This will affect all UNT System. They would like to do this in October so that people would have pay periods to make adjustments before the year end.
- VII.
 Election of New
 Groups caucused to elect committee members and to fill Executive Committee vacancies.

 Members for the Faculty Senate
 Group 1 – Robert Figueroa was elected to the Committee on Committees. Nadine Kalin was elected to the Executive Executive

 Committee
 Committee

Group 2 – Pat Reese was elected to the Committee on Committees. Shawne Miksa was elected to the Executive Committee.

VIII. Ledgerwood – Committee on Committees

Donna

Group 3 – Seifollah Nasrazadani was elected to the Committee on Committees. Srinivasan Srivilliputhus was elected to the Executive Committee.

Group 4 – David Molina was elected to the Committee on Committees. Patricia Kaminski was elected to the Executive Committee.

Group 5 – Jim Conover and Donna Ledgerwood were elected to the Committee on Committees. Dan Peak was elected to the Executive Committee. Group 6 – Jeff Goodwin was elected to the Committee on Committees. V Barbara Bush was elected to the Executive Committee.

Group 7 – Tom La Point was elected to the Committee on Committees. Manish Vaidya was elected to the Executive Committee.

Group 8 – Shelley Cushman will contact faculty for a member on the Committee on Committees.

A motion was made by Senator Vaidya to approve members to the Oversight Core Curriculum Committee. The motion was seconded by Senator Reese. Members elected to the Oversight Core Curriculum Committee: Andrew Enterline and Jeanne Tunks.

A motion was made by Senator Vaidya to approve Shaun Treat to the UCC. The motion was seconded by Senator Reese. Shaun Treat was elected to the UCC.

Rebecca Dickstein was elected to the Committee on the Status of Women.

- IX. William Cherry, UCC A clean up of catalogue mistakes is underway. We will have a new accounting capstone course next fall. There will be a guest speaker and seminar on October 1. The Oversight Committee on the Core needs four members. The agenda of the UCC was presented to the senate. Jeff Goodwin made a motion to accept the agenda of UCC. Dan Peak seconded the motion There was one abstention. The motion passed.
- X.OldNew Policies under Discussion A policy to establish clear
term limits for faculty senate officers is under discussion.
Also, in an effort to improve structural continuity, it may be
important for the Vice Chair to become Chair.

Reapportionment of voting groups – This is the year we will do a reapportionment of voting groups.

New Hire for Faculty senate administrative assistant – We are advertising for a new faculty senate administrative assistant.

- XI. Committee No discussion. of the Whole
- XII. Adjournment Senator Goodwin made a motion to adjourn and Dan Peak seconded the motion. The meeting adjourned at 4:02 PM.