UNT Writing Committee

Report to the Faculty Senate Executive Committee and to the Faculty Senate

May 15, 2018

Dear members of the Faculty Senate Executive Committee and of the Faculty Senate,

The UNT Writing Committee has worked diligently in the fall of 2017 to prepare the 2018 University Writing Award Competition (covering the 2017 calendar year) and intensively between January and March to judge the competition's entries. Eight recipients were selected from a pool of 65 entries.

The graduate student award recipients are as follows: Ms. Leah Tieger – Poetry – for her piece *Children dancing at the Greek festival*. Ms. Natalie Foster – Fiction – for her piece *Everyone should eat his own turtle*. Mr. Clinton Peters – Non-Fiction – for his piece *Giving fire*. Mr. Benjamin Smith – Scholarly – for his piece *Beyond tradition, beyond the self*.

The undergraduate student award recipients are as follows: Mr. Matthew Higginbotham – Poetry – for his piece *Sleight*. Mr. Joshua Beltran – Fiction – for his piece *Daddy's day off*. Mr. Harrison Geosits – Non-Fiction – for his piece *Stone fruit*. Ms. Mariah Hoffman – Scholarly – for her piece *Power beneath performance: Lady Audley's resistance*.

At Honors Day on April 20, 2018, graduate honorees received a \$500 cash award, and undergraduate honorees received a \$325 cash award.

Name	Affiliation	Attendance: April 27, 2018
Evelyn Pitre	College of Business (Chair)	Attended
Smita Mehta	College of Education (and Senator)	Conflict
Junghwan Oh	College of Engineering	Conflict
VACANT	College of Health & Public Services	Vacant
Scott Warren	College of Information (and Senator)	Conflict
VACANT	College of Liberal Arts and Social Sciences	Vacant
Tammy Kinley	College of Merchandising, Hospitality and Tourism	Conflict
Rebecca Geoffroy-Schwinden	College of Music	Attended
Doug Henry	College of PACS	Conflict
Bill Acree	College of Science	Attended
Matthew Bourbon	College of Visual Arts and Design	Conflict
James Duban	Honors College	Conflict
Pamela Andrews	Libraries (at large)	Attended
Randy Loftis	Mayborn School of Journalism	Attended
Jeanne Dubrow	Rhetoric and Composition Program	Conflict
VACANT	Toulouse Graduate School	Vacant
Kimberly Moreland	Writing Center	Attended

I. Membership of the Writing Committee and Attendance to meeting

UNT Writing Committee

Report to the Faculty Senate Executive Committee and to the Faculty Senate

II. Activities

1. Address the Writing Committee's charges.

a. Advertise the University Writing award Competition.

In 2018, the committee has used social media platforms (in addition to its regular method of advertising).

b. Select awards' recipients of the University Writing Award Competition in accordance with policies, guidelines, and procedures, and send a list of recipients to the Faculty Senate in time to present awards at Honors Day.

The competition closed on February 19, 2018. The entries were assigned and distributed by February 20. The judges sent their rankings and scorings to the Chair by March 21. The Chair sent the list of award recipients to the Faculty Senate's Administrative Coordinator. The Faculty Senate's Administrative Coordinator sent official letters to the recipients, to the Faculty Senate, and to the Deans and Department Chairs on or after March 22, 2018.

RESULTS: This year, the committee received 48 Undergraduate entries and 17 Graduate entries, for a total of 65 entries.

RESULTS: This year, the committee received submissions from 5 Colleges, 1 school, TAMS, and 18 Departments

c. Disseminate information about recent awards' recipients throughout the University. The committee is looking into new ways to disseminate the information about the awards' recipients throughout the University.

d. Review policies, guidelines, and procedures for the University Writing Award Competition, and make recommendations for changes as appropriate.

-The committee reviewed its policies, guidelines, and procedures prior to the start of the 2018 competition. No changes were needed.

-The committee reviewed its policies, guidelines, and procedures after the 2018 competition. Current members have made suggestions that will need to be investigated by the next committee.

e. Provide an internal Procedures manual of the UNT Writing Committee to all committee members.

Completion of the manual was impossible this year.

f. Provide an interim report to the faculty Senate Executive Committee and an annual report to the Faculty Senate Executive Committee and to the Faculty Senate.

The committee members' schedule did not permit the submission of an interim report this year. The annual report is now being submitted to the Faculty Senate Executive Committee and to the Faculty Senate.

UNT Writing Committee

Report to the Faculty Senate Executive Committee and to the Faculty Senate

2. Future activities of the Writing Committee

-The committee will work on preparing next year's competition, including updating its forms and advertisement material.

-The committee will work on preparing an internal procedures manual for future members and future chairs.

3. Requests to the Faculty Senate

Urgently: That the Faculty Senate Committee on Committees addresses the following vacancies of the UNT Writing Committee:

College of Business College of Education College of Engineering College of Health & Public Services College of Liberal Arts and Social Sciences College of Merchandising, Hospitality and Tourism College of Music College of Visual Arts and Design Toulouse Graduate School

Respectfully submitted,

Evelyn Pitre Chair UNT Writing Committee