Minnie Stevens Piper Professor Award

Back to Awards Page

The Minnie Stevens Piper Professor Award is a prestigious state-wide award honoring ten professors each academic year for their dedication to the teaching profession and for their outstanding academic, scientific, and scholarly achievement.  Award recipients receive certificates naming them "Piper Professors" together with a cash honorarium of $5,000.00.

Under the current Minnie Stevens Piper Foundation guidelines regarding the number of nominations an institution may make, as well as eligibility  based on full-time equivalent student body enrollment, UNT may submit only one nomination each year.

The Faculty Awards Committee reviews nominations and makes a recommendation to the President's Office for approval of the  selected candidate.

The University of North Texas nominee for the 2014 Minnie Stevens Piper Professor Award is:


Dr. Michael McPherson, Associate Professor of Economics
College of Arts and Sciences


The official announcement of award recipients will be made on May 1, 2014.