

FACULTY SENATE MEETING 11/09/2016 MINUTES

Faculty Senate Meetings Are Open to All Members of the University Community

Meeting: Faculty Senate Meeting, 11/9/16, University Union Senate Room Present: Brian Ayre (CAS), Kim Baker (COE), Glen Biglaiser (CAS), Miriam Boesch (COE), Sheri Broyles (SOJ), Adam Chamberlin (CAS), Elliot Dubin (CMHT), Tatiana Filosofova (CAS), Morgan Gieringer (LIBR), Kamakshi Gopal (CPACS), Paul Hensel (CAS), Lee Hughes (CAS), Paul Hutchison (COB), Nadine Kalin (CVAD), Andrew May (COM), Smita Mehta (COE), Richard Ruderman (CAS), Srinivasan Srivilliputhur (CENG), Jessica Strubel (CMHT), Karthigeyan Subramaniam (COE), Phil Sweany (CENG), Daniel Taylor (PSYC), Guido Verbeck (CAS), Scott Warren (COI), Kevin Yanowski (LIBR), Tao Zhang (COE), Kelly Allen (GSC Representative – Non-Voting) Absent: V. Barbara Bush (COE), Denise Catalano (CPACS), Nolan Gaffney (COB), Pankaj Jain (CAS), Kiko Kawamura (CENG), Kimberly Luevano (COM), Reza Mirshams (CENG), Saraju Mohanty (CENG), Emile Sahliyeh (CAS), Jyoti Shah (CAS), Stephen Slottow (COM), Daniel Taylor (PSYC), Beth Thomsett-Scott (LIBR) Guests: Jim Conover, Mike McPherson, Susan Smith, Jaymee Haefner, Mark Vosvick, Michelle Hale, Dan Peak, Wendy Watson I. Welcome and Sen. Broyles welcomed senators and called FS to order at 2:05PM. Introductions II. Approval of Motion to accept minutes as emailed. Minutes Moved: Senator Verbeck, Seconded: Senator Yanowski. (10/12/16)Discussion: NONE [Vote] [Result] Passed unanimously III. Faculty Senate Do you participate in the Faculty Senate administrator evaluation process? Discussion and If not, why not?

• How can the evaluation process be improved?

faculty evaluation of administrators.

Powerpoint items reviewed; discussion about how we can ensure anonymity in

Faculty

Feedback

IV. Policy Review Update (James Conover, Policy Oversight Committee)

Second Reading [Vote]

06.002 Academic Appointments and Titles *Motion:* Accept the policy as presented

Moved: Sen. Mehta; Seconded: Sen. Chamberlin.

Votes: Yes-25; No-0; Abstention-0.

Passed Unanimously

06.005 Non-Tenure Track Faculty R&P *Motion: Accept the policy as presented*

Moved: Sen. Hutchinson; Seconded: Sen. Dubin.

Discussion: Sen. Dubin: Need a firm/advance reappointment notice. Prof. Conover, "This was discussed and did not get a firm answer from administration mostly because each faculty had a unique contract letter."

Amendment (modification to sections C/D) – "Notification of intention not to renew a multiple-year appointment will be provided upon completion of the annual review process or no later than the first business day two months prior to the completion of the contract term."

Moved: Dubin; Second: Strubel

Votes: Yes-25; No-0; Abstention-0; Amendment passed Unanimously

The amended policy passed unanimously.

06.008 Review of Tenured Faculty

Motion: "Accept the policy as presented" Moved: Sen. Verbeck; Seconded: Sen. Mehta.

Votes: Yes-24; No-0; Abstention-1.

Motion passed.

06.003 Student Standards of Academic Integrity

Motion: "Accept the policy as presented"

Moved: Sen. Chamberlin; Seconded: Sen. Yanowski.

Discussion: Sen. Hughes: "What to do if some terms are not defined?"

Conover: This will be fixed by Policy Advisory Group if we point out the missing

term definitions.

Votes: Yes-25; No-0; Abstention-0. Motion passed unanimously.

06.031 Pre-Finals Days, Reading Day, and Final Examinations

Motion: "Accept the policy as presented"

Moved: Sen. Ruderman; Seconded: Sen. Hutchison.

Votes: Yes-24; No-0; Abstention-0.

Motion passed unanimously.

First Reading

06.009 Tenured Administrators Returning to Full-time Academic Status

V. Committee on Committees Report (Guido Verbeck) [Vote]

Graduate Council (GC) Chair Mark Vosvick summarized his Council's responsibility. 10-member GAC takes suggestions from Administrators and Faculty on Curriculum and Graduate Course Changes, and makes recommendation to FS. No meetings held for this committee for a while. We now have new Associate Provost (ex-officio member of GAC). The first

meeting last week had only 4 GC members attending. Mark Vosvick requested senators' help in filling the 7 vacancies on the GC.

Sen. Verbeck: Nominees whose names are in red fonts are to be voted on. Also voted to accept Meredith Clark and Mei Chang into At-Large Positions, moving Rebecca Dickstein to Group VII slot.

The entire slate of nominees was approved unanimously.

Sen. Verbeck: Motion to fill Administrative Committee Vacancies. Added Lee Hughes as floor nomination for reappointment to Athletic Council. Unanimous vote to accept the slate of candidates.

VI. Election Committee Report (Adam Nomination ballots sent out and the processes close today/tomorrow. Election ballots will go out to Faculty on Monday.

Please suggest ways to improve the election process.

VII. Risk

Scotie Selman made a formal PowerPoint presentation on UNT Emergency

Management Preparedness App.

App and Update

Chamberlin)

App provides quick info on AED location, phones etc.

(Scotie Selman, C

Gave a demo of the App.

Program
Director for
Emergency
Management)

Senator suggestions: (i) App use the GPS coordinators to automatically identify the building the App user is located in (instead of the current inefficient searching of a list to select the building). (ii) Allow users to send message to law enforcement. (iii) Emergency button to access emergency page

instead of scrolling.

Discussed means to disseminate the app information through FS.

VIII. Lynda.com (Daniel Peak) Premium training site freely accessible to UNT community through our EUID.

A short overview summary.

IX. UUCC Minutes (Wendy Watson)

Jaymee Haefner (Co-chair of UUCC) presented the minutes; Motion to accept

the report and minutes. Discussion: NONE

[result] Accepted unanimously.

X New Business

[Vote]

NONE

XI Old Business

XI. Comments for

Be good to each other

Good of the Order

Adjournment

XIII Adjournment

Moved: Senator Verbeck, Seconded: Senator Ruderman

Meeting adjourned at 3:46pm