Committee on Student Conduct

Co-Chairs: Kellye Church, Uyen Tran-Parsons, Amanda Vaughn, and Landon Ellison 
Administrative Contact: Maureen McGuinness, Dean of Students

The Code of Student Conduct (the Code) is the UNT policy that sets expectations for students’ behavior, establishes the process UNT uses to resolve reports of alleged misconduct, and outlines sanctions that can be imposed for misconduct. The Dean of Students Office manages the conduct process outlined in the Code, and DOS staff meet with hundreds of students annually to review reports of alleged misconduct in an educational process designed to help students learn while also ensuring a safe environment at UNT that is conducive to the success of all community members. Serious or repeated misconduct can lead to permanent record sanctions (Level III Conduct Probation, Suspension, and Expulsion). In these cases, students have the right to ask the Committee on Student Conduct to review their case. The Committee includes representatives from the faculty, staff, and student body. The Committee receives ongoing training and support from the Dean of Students Office and the Office of General Counsel to help committee members confidently fulfill their responsibilities.

The Committee meets on an ad hoc basis, based on students’ requests for a review. Though there are generally 20+ members who serve on the Committee, each panel that meets to review a case for a student consists of one faculty, one staff, and one student. Each panel is decided upon based on availability at the time the request for review is made. 

Meetings generally last between 1 to 3 hours. Committee members are expected to attend all scheduled training sessions and to participate in review meetings when their schedule allows. The Faculty Senate, Staff Senate, and Student Government Association are asked to nominate qualified candidates each spring to join the committee for the upcoming fall. The Dean of Students Office also accepts applications and nominations for new committee members are accepted on an ongoing basis.

Below is a list of faculty currently serving on the committee:

Group A-L 1: Wendy Watson (PSCI) - Term Ends 2023*
Group A-L 2: Scott Stovall (ACCT) - Term Ends 2025

Group A-L 3: Jeremy Berg (LIBR) - Term Ends 2023*        
Group A-L 4: Jae Webb (MGMT) - Term Ends 2023
Group A-L 5: William Ordeman (MGMT) - Term Ends 2023   
Group A-L 6: Hillary Wang (ACCT) - Term Ends 2023     
Group A-L 7: Seth Ketron (ITBS) - Term Ends 2023       
Group A-L 8: Pamela Johnston (LIBR) - Term Ends 2023*        
Group A-L 9: Catherine Sassen (LIBR) - Term Ends 2023*
Group A-L 10: Todd Enoch (LIBR) - Term Ends 2023*    
Group A-L 11: Carmen Terry (WLLC) - Term Ends 2023*
Group A-L 12: Timothy Smith (MLOM) - Term Ends 2023

For more information, please contact the office of the Dean of Students