Senate Meetings:

Agendas and Minutes

2017-18 Faculty Senate Meetings:

September 13, 2017

October 11, 2017
November 8, 2017
December 13, 2017
February 14, 2018
March 21, 2018
April 11, 2018
May 9, 2018
June 13, 2018

University Union, 332
2:00pm - 4:00pm


Distinguished Lecture Series Committee

Chairs: Barrett Cole - SGA President

Membership: The committee consists of three (3) faculty representatives appointed by the Faculty Senate, three (3) staff representatives appointed by the UNT Staff Council, six (6) students appointed by the UNT Student Government Association, and one permanent ex officio faculty and/or staff representative to serve as administrative assistance to the committee, appointed by the Vice President for Student Affairs.  The President of the UNT Student Government Association or his/her designee shall serve as chair.

The terms of service for representatives appointed by the Faculty Senate and  Staff Council shall be for a period of three (3) years.  Student representatives will serve for a period of one (1) year.   The Ex Officio representative shall serve at the pleasure of the Vice President for Student Development with no designated term of service.  Faculty and Staff representatives will serve staggered terms in order to ensure continuity for considerations of the committee.

* Indicates Second Term

Faculty Members:

  • Group A-L : Thorne Anderson (JOUR) - Term Ends 2020
  • Group A-L : Kathryn Raign (TECM) - Term Ends 2018

Staff Council Appointees:

  • Danielle Champagne
  • Kathryn Beasley

Committee Members:

  • Ramses Martinez
  • Chelcie Parry
  • Tanner Smithson
  • Connor Gray
  • Andrea Masamba
  • Sindhu Alla

Ex-Officio Staff Member:

  • Debbie Stevens

Graduate Assistant:

  • Robyn Eichorn

Staff Advisor:

  • Ellysia Dierker


The University of North Texas Distinguished Lecture Series is chartered as a university-wide standing Administrative Committee.

An annual report will be submitted to the Vice President for Student Affairs no later than September 30th of each academic year.  A courtesy copy of the report will be sent to the Staff Council and Distinguished Lecture Series Committee.

Objectives of the Series:

To provide the university and greater communities with a variety of distinguished lecturers and speakers that will bring significant interest, visibility and added prestige to the University of North Texas.

Funding will be provided by the Student Service Fee Committee for one (1) fiscal year.  Additional funding/sponsors may be sought to offset some of the cost of producing events. 

The selection of speakers will be conducted on a consensus basis, after suggestions have been sought throughout the university.  The selected speakers must reflect a wide public recognition and appeal.  Under no circumstances will the Series be used to promote the discipline of any particular academic unit, department, school or college within the University.

The Distinguished Lecture Series proposes to accomplish the following objectives:

1. Introduce the University community to the excellence of world-class speakers and to raise the appreciation of same;

2. To expose the University community members to personalities to whom they would not ordinarily be exposed;

3. To compliment the educational process, via outstanding lectures, master classes, residencies, seminars and workshops;

4. To add significantly to the quality of life for the University community and the greater metroplex communities;

5. Endeavor to enhance the educational opportunities for the communities.

6. Attain speakers who provide benefit and are of interest to the students.

 Distinguished Lecture Series - Division of Student Affairs

Previous Distinguished Lecture Series