Graduate Council

Graduate Council Calendar and Meeting Minutes

Co-Chairs: Kris Chesky, 
Faculty Chair
                   Victor Prybutok, Administrative Co-Chair

Composition: The Graduate Council consists of voting and non-voting members. The voting members are: eight graduate status faculty members, one elected from each of the eight voting groups of the Faculty Senate and four graduate status faculty members appointed at-large by the Faculty Senate (with the assistance of the Executive Committee and the Committee on Committees.) Effort will be made so that the appointed at-large members represent disciplines not already represented by the elected members. These twelve faculty members are the only voting members on the Graduate Council. Voting members elect a faculty chair from amongst themselves for a one year term at the beginning of each academic year.

Non-voting members are: two graduate students  selected by the Graduate Student Council, the vice provost of the Toulouse Graduate School (who serves as this Council’s co-chair ex officio), the associate dean of the Toulouse Graduate School, the registrar, and deans or their representatives from each of the colleges, schools, and library.

Terms: Faculty members shall serve three-year terms with a second three-year term available. Student members shall serve one-year terms. Other members shall serve during the period they hold their respective offices.   Annual terms are from September 1 to August 31.
*Indicates Second Term

Group I: Lawrence Williams (WLLC) - Term Ends 2022
Group II: John Martin (LIBR) - Term Ends 2024
Group III: Douglas Brozovic (MATH) - Term Ends 2023*
Group IV: Denise Philpot (ADTA) - Term Ends 2022
Group V: Nolan Gaffney (MGMT) - Term Ends 2022
Group VI: Selcuk Acar (EPSY) - Term Ends 2024
Group VII: Paul Hudak (GENV) - Term Ends 2023
Group VIII: Jaymee Haefner (MUIS) - Term Ends 2022
At-Large: Kris Chesky (MUSIC) - Term Ends 2022*
At-Large: Daphne Gerling (MUISC) - Term Ends 2024*
At-Large: Gwen Nisbett (JOUR) - Term Ends 2023* 
At-Large: Dale Yeatts (SOCI) - Term Ends 2022

Graduate Student Council Representatives:
Andrea Ortiz - President, GSC

Committee Description: The Graduate Council formulates all policies and regulations affecting graduate programs, graduate faculty and graduate curricula at the University of North Texas. The Graduate Council monitors all graduate programs in the university to ensure that they are periodically reviewed and reevaluated. The Graduate Council reports in writing to the Faculty Senate all recommendations affecting graduate programs, graduate faculty and graduate curricula, including but not limited to curricula modifications, program monitoring and evaluation, and program publicity.

Graduate Council Contact:
Natalie Garcia-McIntire
Assistant Director
Toulouse Graduate School
Tel:940.565.3946 | Fax: 940.565.2141 | E-mail: