Faculty Salary Study Committee

Co-chairs: Paul Hutchison and Mary Ann Barber

Mid-year Report
Annual Report

Membership: 11 members elected by the Faculty Senate according to the following: 1 member from each of the 8 voting groups and 3 members elected at-large. Elections shall be such that no single subunit is represented by more than 1 member. The committee shall elect a chair from among its members.

Terms: 3 years
*Indicates second term

  • Group I: Christophe Chaguinian (WLLC) - Term 2022*
  • Group II: Diane Robson (LIBR) - Term Ends 2022
  • Group III: Mary Ann Barber (MATH) - Term Ends 2022*
  • Group IV: Adam Trahan (DCJ) - Term Ends 2022*
  • Group V: Paul Hutchison (ACCT) - Term Ends 2022*
  • Group VI: Tao Zhang (KHPR) - Term Ends 2023
  • Group VII: Sophia Kinyanjui (CHEM) - Term Ends 2022
  • Group VIII: Marjorie Hayes (THEA) - Term Ends 2023
  • Group A-L1: Cathie Norris (LTEC) - Term Ends 2024*
  • Group A-L2: Erin Welch (MGMT) - Term Ends 2023
  • Group At-L3: Joy Houser (MLOM) - Term Ends 2022

Faculty Salary Study Committee Charges (rev. 11-11-20)

  • In consultation with the Provost’s Office, monitor the process and data by which faculty merit raises (including “excellence” raises) and market adjustments are allocated, and analyze the faculty salaries under the current workload policy. Review findings with the Committee on the Status of Women and the Committee on the Status of People of Color.

  • In conjunction with the Academic Affairs Committee, study summer salary in relation to our peers.

  • Salary compression is an on-going issue at UNT. While it is important that the university stay competitive with new hires, the committee should regularly monitor faculty salary trends to ensure that long term UNT faculty members are not disadvantaged.

  • Work with UNT Institutional Research to examine market trends in regular salary compensation for faculty, especially in relation to our peers. Given economic issues, there should be flexibility in determining which peers to compare to.

  • Work with the Faculty Research Committee and the Faculty Senate Budget Committee to share information and identify issues of mutual concern regarding workload, research support, salaries, and other budget issues affecting faculty.

  • As needed, report to the Committee on Faculty Participation in Governance regarding any issues of concern the Faculty Salary Study Committee might have with respect to implementation of its recommendations.